1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Forum

Welcome to the GigaPan Forum!

This is the place for Gigapan.com members to offer peer-to-peer support for exchanging tips, ideas, comments, etc.

Those who need direct technical assistance with their GigaPan EPIC Series imagers, stitching software or gigapan.com membership account should contact us.

Forums » General Gigapanning » Image Management

Image Management
David Zakary David Zakary
Total Posts: 18

Wonder what people are doing for image management for their GigaPans?

Is it worth using LightRoom or Aperture for storing everything or some other program?

As I’m just starting out, its been a folder/sub-folder setup for each pano I’ve shot. That won’t last much longer.

Lightroom will do batch corrections pretty quickly. Good for exposure adjustments. Not sure if Aperture does that.

David Pivin David Pivin
Total Posts: 40

I use iPhoto Batch Enhancer to apply the same adjustments to hundreds of pan photos. http://www.feroxsoft.com/ibe/index.php.en
Free trial available there. I used it to do my 1176 image Goosenecks pan: http://gigapan.org/gigapans/49832

I manage all my pan photos in iPhoto as albums and just drag and drop an album’s content into Stitcher after editing. I also do complex repairs in PS through iPhoto and combine that with iPhoto adjustments. The darkness tool is quite useful to help with dynamic range.

No need to make extra copies or export to folders. Originals are preserved as the scripts just open the normal edit tool. You can always revert to original if you don’t like the end result after the stitch.

Aperture doesn’t do batch on adjustments, only metadata changes. You must manually paste adjustments on selected photos. Not convenient on a thousand photos. I did not find a similar batch scripting plug-in for it.

Dave

I check out the Batch Enhancer. Thanks.

Chris Fastie Chris Fastie
Total Posts: 13

My gigapan workflow on a PC: