1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Forum

Welcome to the GigaPan Forum!

This is the place for Gigapan.com members to offer peer-to-peer support for exchanging tips, ideas, comments, etc.

Those who need direct technical assistance with their GigaPan EPIC Series imagers, stitching software or gigapan.com membership account should contact us.

Forums » General Gigapanning » Quick question re: Gigapan Pro and Tripods

Quick question re: Gigapan Pro and Tripods
Socialeventshots Socialeventshot...
Total Posts: 5

Hello there,

I’m very new to the gigapan community and have a quick question.

I hope to purchase the gigapan Pro over the weekend and was wondering how it works in relation to a tripod. On the site it states that I need a mounting plate – does this come with the gigapan?

Can I mount the gigapan pro directly on a tripod, or do i also need a head?

Sorry, these questions are probably very basic for most of you! As the gigapan is so expensive, I’m trying to minimize costs when it comes to tripods/mounting accessories etc.

Thanks very much!
Charlie

Terry Foss Terry Foss
Total Posts: 16

Charlie,

While you can attach the Gigapan Pro directly to a tripod, some kind of a head makes it MUCH easier to level the unit. It doesn’t need to be fancy, but you really want one.

The mounting plate they mention is for the camera to the gigapan unit. One comes with the gigapan, I believe.

Best, Terry

MediaPila MediaPila
Total Posts: 30

Yes, you can… but.
Nivelate the tripod will be a hard work. If you dont want the head of the tripod, you can use a nivelator plate like this: Manfrotto 438 3/8 Ball Camera Leveler.
You will have a lot of problems if you try to nivelate the tripod if you dont have this.

Hope this help.

Regards!

Neil Pedersen Neil Pedersen
Total Posts: 2

When sizing out tripods and heads, make sure you pick one with a high enough weight capacity. ( Gigapan+camera body+biggest lense you will use )