1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Forum

Welcome to the GigaPan Forum!

This is the place for Gigapan.com members to offer peer-to-peer support for exchanging tips, ideas, comments, etc.

Those who need direct technical assistance with their GigaPan EPIC Series imagers, stitching software or gigapan.com membership account should contact us.

Forums » General Gigapanning » Small space advice please

Small space advice please
Spencerwynn Spencerwynn
Total Posts: 3

I have to fly half a world away on assignment to shoot an industrial facility. This facility is comprised of many storage depots, laboratories, engineering rooms, boiler rooms etc.

I am new to Gigapans and have two weeks to practice and be proficient before I depart. I would love to get any thoughts/advice on shooting indoors to get the right balance between good detail, spherical setups and “quick” shooting. I will be setting up, shooting and moving on to new rooms and hope to get many done per day.

Thanks very much.

bkaylor bkaylor
Total Posts: 29

You need to get your camera/lens set up for parallax, otherwise you might not even get past the stitching phase. That involves adjusting the position of the camera so that the X, Y, and Z axis revolve around the entrance pupil of the lens.

You should also find out how much depth of field you have to work with so you can position your camera to get the best focus.

And since you are both new and will be in a hurry, you need a detailed checklist that you follow religiously. I can’t tell you how many times I forgot one little thing and wasted the entire shoot.

Tripod hinges latched – check
Enough space on SD card – check
Autofocus off – check
etc.

If you need more detail on any of these things let me know.
-bkaylor

Tim Brown Tim Brown
Total Posts: 54