1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Forum

Welcome to the GigaPan Forum!

This is the place for Gigapan.com members to offer peer-to-peer support for exchanging tips, ideas, comments, etc.

Those who need direct technical assistance with their GigaPan EPIC Series imagers, stitching software or gigapan.com membership account should contact us.

Forums » Web Site and Forum » Zoom Limit

Zoom Limit
Gregory Young Gregory Young
Total Posts: 20

I’m a newbie but I haven’t found my question in any of the forums. Is there a way to limit the amount of zooming in on a gigapan? I’ve noticed on all but one of my gigapans that the zoom feature allows zooming to 200% of actual size. This makes images that are perfectly sharp look soft. I believe the zoom limit should be 1:1 or 100% of actual pixels. This 200% reflects poorly on all gigapans IMHO. Greg

Ronnie Miranda Ronnie Miranda
Total Posts: 24

This was actually brought up in 2009 in the old GigaPan forum. http://forum.gigapan.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=430

Because of the mission and whole purpose of the Gigapan project through the Global Connection Project http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~globalconn, explorability of an image (to zoom in and see more detail) was and still is more important. There was a suggestion in the old forum to put a 1:1 marker on the slider to let the user know if they are going beyond the actual pixel size.

Gregory Young Gregory Young
Total Posts: 20

The 1:1 marker is a good idea. However. I’d disagree that more enlargement shows more detail. At 1:1, everything that is in the image is visible and as sharp as possible. Greater enlargement is simply doubling and/or interpolating existing pixels. What ever became of the marker idea??

Phillip Norman Phillip Norman
Total Posts: 1