Log In now to add this Gigapan to a group gallery.
Log In now to add this Gigapan to a gallery.
About This GigapanToggle
- Taken by
- Michael Karavanov
- Explore score
- 0.07 Gigapixels
- Date added
- Nov 12, 2008
- Date taken
- Nov 06, 2008
November 8, 2008. Russia, Yaroslavskaya oblast, demolished Ascension Christ church in Yelpat'yevo.
The grave of Bartholome Frederic de Fouche (from Neuchatel, died 27 april 1874) is close by.
The owner of Yelpat’yevo estate Chamberlain of Imperial Court Pavel Petrovich Naryshkin built this stone temple from 1814 till 1829.
In the middle of 19 century the estate belongs to the Earl and Chamberlain Dmitry Pavlovich Naryshkin. In September 1859 the famous French writer Alexandre Dumas-père stayed there during two weeks together with graphic artist Jean-Pierre Moynet. In return for warm welcome Dumas devoted own novel "Sea Duke" to Dmitry Naryshkin.
In the early nineties of 19 century the public school was opened near church (see two-storeyed brick house on the right side)
Yelpat’yevo estate was ravaged after revolution 1917.