Log In now to add this Gigapan to a group gallery.
Log In now to add this Gigapan to a gallery.
About This GigapanToggle
- Taken by
- Keith Rodgerson
- Explore score
- 1.17 Gigapixels
- Date added
- Nov 06, 2009
- Date taken
- Oct 06, 2009
The town of Kelso in the Scottish Borders is on the junction of the river Teviot and the River Tweed. The castle in the background is Floors Castle, home of the Duke of Roxburghe. Kelso Abbey on the right is from the 13th century. The junction pool under the bridge is famous for salmon fishing. This bridge which crosses the Tweed, was designed by John Rennie of Haddington. His design is unusual in that it has a level road over semi-elliptical arches. Opened in 1803, the bridge has its Toll House on the town side. This demand for tolls led to the reading of the Riot Act in 1854, when the townspeople, tired of paying for the bridge, whose cost they reckoned had long since been covered, rioted. Later, in 1857, the tolls were removed.
Rennie later designed bridges for London, the Kelso Bridge being the design he used for Waterloo Bridge which was completed in 1817. When the Waterloo Bridge was dismantled in 1937, two of the lamp standards from that bridge were gifted to Kelso and still stand at the far end of the bridge from the town. Kelso Abbey on the right is from the 13th century. The junction pool under the bridge is famous for salmon fishing
220 pictures taken with a Canon SX1 on manual settings see also www.gigapan.org/viewGigapan.php?id=26162